The 2009 Abu Dhabi Golf Championship Featured

Watch number-one players battle it out at the UAE's top golf tournament.
by 15 December 2009

The world’s top players will be making an appearance at this year’s Abu Dhabi Golf Championship. In total, 120 golfing heroes will be taking to the rolling fairways to compete in the city’s first big sporting event of the year.

Traditionally held at the Abu Dhabi Golf Club, Falcon Trophy winners have included Amercian Chris DiMarco and last year’s British champion Paul Casey, the first European to win in four years, who will return this year to defend his title. He joins Spanish world number eight Sergio Garcia and Australian Geoff Ogilvy, ranked tenth.

With a prize purse of US$2million, the competition continues to become a staple fixture in the international circuit, and the perfect event for pros to sharpen their skills for the Opens during the spring and summer months. The European PGA Tour-sanctioned 2010 Championship runs from 21-24th January at Abu Dhabi Golf Club’s Par-72 National Course.

For more information on the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship, click here.

Related articles:
Dubai's passion for polo
Golf on the Turkish Riviera